Victory is Hers

Laurencia Rachel was born at 1:47 pm, yesterday, August 26, 2013.  Her”little” sister, Valencia Katerina was born one minute later at 1:48 pm.  Laurencia weighed 2 lbs. 12 oz., Valencia weighed 4 lbs. 10 oz and is 17 inches long.

Laurencia was born with her tiny heart beating long enough for her daddy to get to hold her alive, just as I had all these months.  She was peaceful from the moment she was delivered from me until the moment she was delivered into the arms of Jesus, at approximately 2:02 pm.

Laurencia died while in her daddy’s arms, holding her sister’s hand.  She was surrounded by  her two aunties, Laura and Anna and I was lying near her on the operating table.  She was prayed right into Heaven by all of you and by our families, who were here to meet her.  Her brother and sisters fell instantly in love with her and both of our families spent the afternoon holding her, loving her and telling her how much they each loved her. 

I will provide photos and many more details in the coming days.  I need to go visit with our Valencia, who is doing fantastically.  She is not requiring oxygen of any sort and is healthy and strong just like her name.  She will likely be in the NICU at least 2-3 weeks to ensure she remains stable and grows.

There are so many things I could tell you about yesterday, but there are few words adequate to describe it.  As usual, I plan to do my very best so as to honor my precious baby girl.  I am so privileged to be her mother.

While our grief at times comes in waves deeper than even we could have imagined, we felt every single prayer and know that your prayers sent God to be with us.  Thank you for keeping us in your hearts and prayers. 

Katrina  

 

8 thoughts on “Victory is Hers

  1. I will be sending up so many prayers for you as you mourn the loss of your precious Laurencia and welcome your sweet Valencia. Your faith in this time of pain and joy both is an inspiration. Hugs!

  2. I prayed for you all, all day yesterday. The residents and my co-workers that were praying for you also, I let them know that today was the day, so that they could continue to pray. It does not seem like much, but that is about all I can do at this point. You have my sympathy.

  3. Dearest Katrina,
    You tell the story of Laurencia’s Victory so beautifully, and as with everything else you do, with grace and humility. Because of you, Laurencia knew life. She knew her identical twin, Valencia; she knew her siblings and loving family members; she knew the strength of her Daddy’s arms; and she knew the strength and depth of her parents’ love for her. I brought some flowers to you today but decided to leave them at the desk and have one of the nurses bring them in to you when they check on you. After the emotional events of yesterday for you and your family, I wanted to respect your privacy. Please know that I am thinking of you and praying for you all, especially for the continued health and strength of precious Valencia. I know that Valencia’s “big” sister will always be at her side lovingly watching over her.
    Mary Zaffke

    • Mary, I can tell you myself! Thank you so very very much for the flowers and card. Precious to us. We hope to see you soon with our Valencia. We are spoiled with love from everyone at MG MFM. It is a SPECIAL place and you all hold a very special place in our hearts and always will.

  4. Thanks for sharing with us, Katrina. We know your time with your family is precious and it is kind of you to take the time to write us a note. Sending lots of love and prayers. SO glad Valencia is doing well. I am also really glad that Laurencia had time to get hugged and kissed and held before she went to heaven.Your girls were blessed to come into a family like yours.

    • Oh Shawn! Thank you. Please tell Mary we received the beautiful pink roses and they have opened into giant blooms filling my room with memories of our Laurencia. The letter she sent was so kind and we cherish it. I hope to be able to provide photos today. It’s been quite an amazing few days….

Leave a Reply

